Pizza Napolitana – Serves 2 hungry people

Pizza Napolitana - Serves 2 hungry people

Basic Pizza Dough
500g gluten free flour
1 teaspoon salt
7g yeast
1/4 teaspoon Natvia (Stevia)
150ml milk (warmed)
4 eggs (beaten)
120g butter (creamed)

Put flour and salt in basin. Add yeast and stevia to warmed milk with the beaten eggs; add this liquid to the flour and beat thoroughly. Work the creamed butter into the dough. Cover and leave for 40 minutes to rise.
This makes enough dough for four pizzas. I divided the dough into quarters and used one quarter for the pizza, and wrapped each of the other quarters separately in cling film and froze for later use.

Pizza Napolitana
1/4 quantity of basic dough.

For topping
4-6 anchovy fillets
2 tablespoons milk
500g ripe tomatoes
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 small onion
1 dessertspoon chopped basil
pepper
120g Mozzarella cheese (sliced)

Flour the dough lightly and pat it out with the flat of your hand on floured baking sheet to a round 23cm in diameter. Split the anchovy fillets in two lengthways and soak them in the milk; set aside.
Scald and skin the tomatoes, cut away the hard core, squeeze gently to remove seeds, then slice. Heat the oil in a frying pan; add chopped onion and, after a few minutes, the sliced tomatoes. Draw pan aside and add the herbs; season well. Set oven at 200 Celsius. Cover dough with tomato mixture, place cheese slices on this and arrange anchovies lattice-wise over top. Prove pizza for 15 minutes, then bake in pre-set oven for 30 minutes.

This was yum. We ate half each.The basil was homegrown. The olive oil was from the local Farmers Market. I have used stevia instead of sugar, as R has to have a filling in his tooth, and the dentist has told him his teeth are deteriorating. He has been fortunate up to now that brushing well has been enough, as people with cerebral palsy often have trouble with their teeth. He decided himself that he would stop having lollies and fizzy drinks etc to see if that would help, and said he didn’t want any desserts or cake etc with sugar in, so I have started using Stevia, which is a natural sweetener, as neither of us like the idea of saccharine or aspartame.

And here is my whoopsie moment of the day – I was walking towards the post office on my way to work this morning when I realised I hadn’t put my petticoat on and that in the light my skirt was fairly see through. I know anything goes when you are young, but I am not that young anymore, and don’t want people seeing what I don’t want them to see!!
Some days I don’t even want to see it myself. I made a quick dash home in the car and put the petticoat on!! Thankfully the day got better and I managed to fix up something at work that had been puzzling me for a few days.

The family arrived back today, and Jake has gone back home. They were all pleased to see him and he was equally pleased to see them.

2 thoughts on “Pizza Napolitana – Serves 2 hungry people

  1. One Rachel to another, this is My kind of Recipe. I still use sugar some but only organic which still has some nutrients in it. You are so right saccharine, aspartame and other man made sweeteners are terrible for you. However you might be interested to know that raw honey is said to help heal teeth. You are welcomed to come to my page and see some of my recipes.

    • Glad you liked the recipe. Feel free to take it and adapt it or blog it to suit you. I like to share my recipes, which are ones from other people that I have adapted to suit the way we eat. I did have a look at raw honey – I love google, it is my friend, and will bear it in mind for recipes where the stevia will not do the job, and for my son to use. I will also pop over and have a look at your recipes. Nice to meet another Rachel. I like your Gravatar picture.

Leave a Reply

